The Kon of KonMari

Last January we celebrated 16 years in our house. The home we built from the ground up, selecting finishes and amenities we were sure would last a lifetime. I mean, it seemed so big then, like we would never fill it.

What morons we were.

During that time, I had three kids and apparently also birthed a tremendous amount of stuff. Now stuff is not necessarily a bad thing, but I needed to do some serious purging. So I did what every 2k internet junkie does; I consulted Marie Kondo. This Japanese organization expert and her KonMari method make Martha Stewart look like amateur hour.

I did a little research, watched some YouTube videos and television appearances and I was pumped! So sure that a little Kondo would translate into some serious Kan-do.

Yeah, well, not so much.

First of all, Kondo does not speak English or limited English at best. She prattles on in Japanese while we wait, surrounded by our piles, for her wisdom to be imparted by a translator. So, is the translator the real genius here? How do we know? Kondo could be talking about Japan’s average rainfall rates and NO ONE WOULD KNOW.

She is perky and attractive and smiles a lot. Could she be a front for some matronly organizational guru with no charm and spark?

Ok, Stiles, focus. Focus on the message.

Which is: Things should spark joy or we kick them to the curb.


This theory could put my children in grave danger at least once a day.

I’m kidding, really. Sort of.

Anyhoo, I was ready to face a decade and a half worth of possibly soulless, joyless objects with some Hefty trash bags to bolster me.

An hour later, I had filled three bags with broken bits of my sons’ “must have” toys, a few broken bits of my heart and fought back the big ugly cry burning in my chest.

Is this the KonKry Method?

I don’t remember a chapter about tears and trash but I soldiered on. Out went the Barney books which realistically sparked whatever the opposite of joy is. Adios Diego and Dora; you made me miserable in two languages. Puzzles with missing pieces and cars with 3-wheels didn’t make the cut either.

BAM! I was kicking some Kondo butt.

After hauling 8 bags outside for bulk pick-up, I posted the bigger firetrucks and ambulances on my Moms Facebook group. I mean nothing brings joy to a new generation of moms like a wailing siren that, inexplicably, never depletes the batteries.

You’re welcome.

I was on a roll and woke up the next day totally jazzed to tackle the closets. When you have three boys, you end up with a lot of hand me downs. I had bins and bins of perfectly good clothing that my youngest two wouldn’t be caught dead in.

Cargo Pants = death by cotton

Except, I did not want to part with some of those clothes. I could picture the boys—sometimes all three—in a particular outfit and I was a blubbering mess. I laid my head on a pile of Old Navy sweatshirts, stared at the ceiling and wondered if there was Kondo Kobweb method I should be taking advantage of.

However, even I couldn’t support the rationalization that all this emotion was joy; so I closed my eyes and put the clothing slowly into bags saving just a few items that had significance.

Like the homemade basketball uniform that I pieced together in 2009 from the scads of City of Gaithersburg jerseys we amassed. Only the youngest child has a treasure such as this because Mom would NEVER miss the basketball sign-up and subsequent jersey assignment with the first two kids. I begged the coach to let my son on the team, paid the equivalent of a mortgage in late fees, dyed a t-shirt brown and proceeded to glue, stitch and iron on decals to create the ugliest uniform known to man.

It was either my highest or lowest parenting moment ever. Only future therapy will reveal the truth.

This exercise was way harder than the toys. I needed a King-sized Kondo Kocktail to help me find some serious joy.

The piece-de-resistance of the KonMari method is the folding of the clothes you have deemed an extended member of the family. If anything is going into a drawer, it must be folded into itself over and over until it is the size of an envelope.

With no experience at Gap, this was daunting for me.

I was pretty sure I was going to get Karpal Tunnel Syndrome by Kondo if I kept this up. Then, I remembered one little factoid in the bio of our fearless, clean leader.

I haphazardly shoved all the remaining t-shirts into the drawer and felt more joy than I had since I started this organizational odyssey. This craziness didn’t apply to people like me and here’s why:

Marie Kondo has one child, who will celebrate her first birthday this summer.

ONE CHILD!!

Now it all made sense. She’s not delusional (ok, well clearly she is) but it is just because she is naïve. In fact, when she developed this revolutionary, impractical method, she had no children at all.

Please, write a book when you have multiple kids, backpacks, cleats, clothes that might maybe fit if you ever find the time to exercise, endless photo albums with pictures that make you weepy and, well, STUFF.

Sometimes all that stuff is a reminder of a life well lived and the things we loved while doing it. Ms. Kondo, if that’s Klutter then Kount me in.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

