I am up to the Challenge

The Today Show Parenting Team issued a challenge recently to its contributors, like me. They wanted our very best organizational tips to make school mornings easier.

Usually, I am one of the first to post my response to a new topic because early posts get clicks and votes. It’s not that my ideas are so dazzling, rather that there’s nothing else for people to read yet.

But this challenge. Wow, crickets. I had nothing.

My stellar organizational advice to households all over America?

Get up 15 minutes earlier.

Yup, in a sea of posts about snack stations, bins and compartmentalized lunches, I had nothing. Mostly because people who are unorganized ain’t got no business offering tips to other people.

See, I am “fauxganized” (pronounced fo-ganized) which, by definition, is the act of appearing organized to the outside world, when in reality, one is not.

My firm belief is that fauxganized folks are happier people all around. And you know why?

We have zero expectations.

Nothing is ever really where I left it. There is not a place for everything and everything in its place. My piles spawn piles. We don’t even care if other people are organized and pity us our scatter-brained ways.

Somehow it all works. It takes a little more time, but it works.

Mostly.

With three kids in three schools, September had the potential to be a literal hurricane of paper. It was a little daunting to be honest.

But since the beginning of school is like New Year’s Eve for us moms–just with less champagne– I had hope. We had shopped for the right outfits, we counted down the minutes and we looked ahead to a fresh start.

But who am I kidding? Just like every insincere resolution before it, I will lose momentum, one homework assignment and permission form at a time. And soon enough (October is my prediction) I will regress back to my fauxganized self.

I am the rare breed who operates better in chaos. I have conceded slightly by making one folder for each school; giving me a place to shove everything when it comes home. Now finding that folder when I need it is another thing.

I read every one of the tips on the Today Parenting site and it seemed like a lot of work to save you some work in the morning.

So, I don’t have any hacks for busy moms. Or Pinterest boards you can pin. But if you want to learn more about how to fake it ‘til you make it, come sit next to me. I am definitely up to that challenge.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

