Day 8– Parenting Paradox

The first line in that elusive parenting manual would say,

“A mother is only as happy as her most bored child.”

And I am unhappy. So, so unhappy.

Poor Reed. One brother has started school and the other has sports practices and work to keep him occupied. Reed just has me.

Oh and the iPad. Since the insurance gods have not coughed up a new phone yet, Reed is stuck using the iPad to entertain himself and communicate with friends.

If Reed’s sighs are any indication, the Smithsonian is going to send over an archeologist to examine this primitive iPad practice and preserve it for coming generations.

He seems to forget that three months ago (I refer to it as the Precellophonic Era) the iPad rocked.

Yesterday, I left him on the couch as I went to pick up Drew from practice and run a few errands. I suspected that there were pre-teens bored just like mine all over the neighborhood. My suspicions were confirmed when I stopped to talk to my neighbor.

She explained that her son, also 12, was currently lounging in their family room wearing a robe. Although I loved the mental picture, we both agreed it was a waste at 10:30 in the morning.

So, we kicked both boys out to fish at the lake down the street, But before I knew it, he was back home. Seems the family had lunch plans and Reed was all mine again.

I tossed out dozens of options and all I got was a “meh.” I mean, I expected indifference at the suggestion of summer work, but inviting school friends over? I was shocked.

Then, I realized that he was just having a lazy day. The first day in the two months he had been off school when he had nothing to do, nowhere to be and no one knocking on the door.

It was such a foreign concept that he was out of sorts and complaining, but had no real desire to change anything. It was a departure for me as well, so I was thinking he was unhappier than he really was.

I decided to just let him be. He watched too much annoying Teen Nick. He shared funny Snapchats. But he also read his book and played with some toys that hadn’t seen the light of day in a long time.

In other words, he occupied himself, just like we used to when we were kids.

Imagine that.

The second line in that elusive parenting manual just might say,

“Sometimes the children know what they need better than we parents do.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

