Day 10, 2014

Today I share my favorite thoughts and quotes from the Stiles household in 2014.

As my kids pushed and shoved each other through Dick’s sporting goods

Mom: “I am to feel much anger”
Boys (stopping and staring): “What?”
Mom: “I am going to pretend that I am a Russian who just came to this country until you stop embarrassing me in public.”

After no one would walk the dog for the 100th time this summer

Mom: “The next time you have to go to the bathroom, I am going to lock all the bathroom doors and make you wait until I decide you can go or whenever the TV show I am watching is over and then you will know how poor Murphy feels.”

Just sitting on the couch pondering life

Reed: “In old time Bible days, was Jesus a really popular name?”
Mom: Crickets… nothing…there are no words

After being told “No” for the 100th time while shopping

Drew: “All this talking about budget makes me think we are poor”
Mom: “No, a budget helps you keep track of your money so you don’t end up poor.”
Drew: “Ok, now you are just trying to confuse me.”

After being told “No” for the 100th time while shopping Part II

Reed: “I know you have money. You have a credit card and that is better than money.”

Mom’s random thoughts

I think that if I was smart I would tape the incessant bickering, hand it over to the government and terrorists would spill secrets and surrender in minutes. Can anyone say Nobel Peace Prize?

On summer reading

Reed: “This book is soooo boring. I bet it took the guy forever to write it because he kept falling asleep”

Every day

“We have no food” This statement could be uttered by any child, any time

To the soccer trainer we pay by the hour

Reed: “I am tired because I don’t sleep at all at night. I stay up and think of the things I want to draw and waking up first to play with the iPad before anyone else.”

**I was then forced to tell the guy that I see Reed sleeping every night and that he has more imagination than he has soccer skills. He looked a little spooked. Hope he comes back for another training session next week**

Asking for his wallet

Mac: “You know where I keep my money in my room, right?
Mom: “No, but I love it that you think I know where everything is in there,”

On sibling babysitting duty

Drew: “I hate it when Mac babysits us, he is so bossy.”
Mom: “Well, he is babysitting so….
Drew: “That doesn’t mean that he gets to tell us what to do!!”
Mom: “Well, technically it does.”
Drew: “Oh, I thought you just made sure no one dies and stuff”
Mom: “Well, yes that too.”

Every day Part II

“I love you.” Thankfully, this statement could be uttered by any child, any time.

Sometimes I have to replay that last one in my head over and over to make all the other quotes and randomness bearable. Well almost anyway.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

