Day 5, 2014

It has been a tough week for my household and the world at large. So, I am going to focus on the lighter side of current events here.

PEOPLE MAKING VIDEOS IN THEIR CARS: I have seen dozens of videos on Facebook and the internet this week featuring people making videos in their cars. This has never once occurred to me. I can’t find my phone and keep it charged when I am in the car, let alone balance it on the dash and lip sync a song or sing a song from “Frozen” with my kids.

Is this legal? Is this worse than texting and driving?

Why doesn’t the phone or camera or whatever fall and end up filming the floor mats? When I have all the time in the world to snap a photo or film, I still have to do it 100 times to get one usable snippet and not 50 shots of the grass or the people in the background.

And if you are not making a video in the car to kill time while driving, then why the car? Why not outside or in your house? I am entertained, but confused.

THE KID WHO LIVED AT WALMART: A 14yo run away set up a hidden camp and lived in a Walmart store in Texas for a couple of days. The kid nabbed food and drinks and then changed his clothes every couple of hours to avoid detection. Genius.

Do you think when Sam Walton sat around a conference room table envisioning the first Walmart store all those years ago he said, “I want it to have everything; people could live there!”

Well he can check that box. Done.

But, in further proof that teenage boys can’t get out of their own way, a trail of trash led authorities to the runaway’s secret hiding spot. It seems they cannot “clean their rooms” even when the stakes are high.

DISCLAIMER TO AVOID HATE EMAILS
**I am in no way diminishing the seriousness of teen runaways, I hope they get this boy help as I think this is chronic problem for him**

“TODAY” CO-HOST HAS BABY: Good old Savannah’s baby trumped international crisis, domestic uprisings and Robin Williams. Although the today show acted like it was, indeed, the first baby ever born, it was a nice diversion and we got to see Savannah without make-up. Always a bonus.

As a viewer who watched daily, I was so used to seeing her pregnant I sort of forgot about the actual due date and all that.

It reminded me of the time someone—A MALE—said to me… “Wow it seems like you have been pregnant a long time. Like a year.” I think I channeled a little Linda Blair with shooting venom and all when I spun on him.
He had no idea that, realistically, you are pregnant for the larger part of a year and that the last month feels like a year so it is closer to two years per pregnancy. Like counting in dog years. If you count all the kids and throw in some multiplication for bed rest, I was actually pregnant for close to a decade. That guy is lucky he lived to recount that tale.

NEW iPHONE APPS: A mom. A normal mom like me, except I think she is way smarter and a total bad-ass, decided that she was DONE with her son not answering her calls. On the phone that she paid for.

She didn’t threaten, yell or whine. Well, maybe she did but then she got down to business which is where our similarities end.

While he was busy playing video games and blowing off his mom, she got busy creating an app that disables her son’s phone if he won’t answer her calls. It is called “Ignore No More.”

In order to unlock the phone, her child has to contact her for the secret pin which always changes.

I think I have a girl crush on this woman.

This app is a close second to DC’s liquor home delivery app called “Thirstie.” Since I am “thirsty” a lot I am hoping that Maryland soon will follow suit. I would then order booze to my house, invite the app invention lady and have a drink with her.

So there you have it guys….hope I made your day a little lighter.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

