Day 1, 2014

This is the first installment in my annual end of summer blog….

Day 1

Packing up our place at the end of vacation and making it “renter ready” is exhausting. If we actually had time to go to the beach then I could rationalize not renting it. But because summer is now as busy as the school year, total strangers now enjoy it more than I do.

This horrible process is further complicated by the fact that all of the sand that used to be on the beach is now in my house.

Some say money is the root of all evil. I disagree. The root of all evil is sand.

Sand is quicker than me, smarter than me and certainly outnumbers me. I could save the town of Ocean City millions of dollars in annual beach replenishment expenditures. They just need to upend all of the condos in North Ocean City and let the sand pour out. The sand in the bottom of the indoor and outdoor pools alone would allow them to rebuild year after year.

For free.

So, I tackle the sand, the bins and the whole owners’ closet nightmare because of one thing. A veritable pot of gold at the end of the rental rainbow.

Wawa Food Stores.

Blah, blah beautiful sunsets over the bay. Blah, Blah relaxing on the beach. Blah, blah watching the kids frolic in the waves. That’s all great, but if we are being honest, Wawa is the highlight of vacation for this girl.

Most people would not consider life here in Montgomery County, Maryland a deprived one. Yet, with no Wawa in sight, we are suffering.

So, you can understand the thrill of having Wawa a few blocks away at the beach with the added bonus of Wawa’s lining the route from Montgomery County to the beach as well.

Maybe I wouldn’t appreciate the wonders of Wawa if I had access to it every day, but I would like to test the theory. I mean, what is not to love?

The touch screens make me swoon. Nowhere else on earth can I order for the entire family without anyone speaking to me. Not one word. Everyone takes their turn at the screen, all very civilized and orderly.

Moreover, I have veto power over a child’s food choice by tapping on the PREVIOUS button. Like the time Reed decided he needed a shot of Espresso in his drink because it sounded exotic. An 11yo bouncing around the car after a strong shot of caffeine is not exotic or enticing. DELETE. NEXT.

They have a ton of fresh, healthy options like veggies and dip, fruit and yogurt in the Express Cafe. See, they even have cool names! So, when I need to rationalize the whipped cream on my strawberries and cream smoothie—with yogurt thank you- I can wander over and pick up a crisp apple.

Usually I am so full from the high-calorie drink that I don’t actually EAT the apple, but I have it just in case I get suddenly healthy…I mean hungry.

The soft pretzels by the register are amazing. Like little Amish families are working somewhere in the back of the store keeping up a steady supply. How they manage to keep them slightly hard on the outside and soft on the inside while sitting on a rack at the check-out all day is just an example of the magic of Wawa. It defies logic, it just works.

Royal Farms and Sheetz try to keep up. Poor 7-11 is not even close. The ATM with no foreign fees, the smell of fresh baking bread, the self-serve hot dogs and buffalo chicken bites are just too much!

The thought of going to Wawa before we head home makes everything bearable. Like when we discover that the rancid smell permeating every room is not a dead animal as we suspected but Drew’s swim suit forgotten and mildewed under his bed, Wawa makes that
a-ok.

Or when riding in the car with all the windows down, the kids bickering flows out their back windows and somehow defies g-force, gravity or some other scientific word and whips forward to come in my window. I rise above it, knowing that soon I will be wrapped in the warm glow of Wawa.

As the miles bring us closer to home, reality sets in. Vacation is done just like my strawberry smoothie. Wawa may be a distant memory but one look at the beach bag tells me that the sand, it seems, will be with us forever.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 376 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

