Naptitude

sleep2

As the world gets more dark and complicated by the day, we could all use some good news. I received just that while avoiding all the important things left undone and trolling Facebook the other day.

There, complete with graphics, was a post detailing the benefits of napping. Yes folks, it turns out that napping makes you smarter.  This is the first time I have been excited about anything remotely educational since…well, since never.

That is because my brain is full. At capacity. This is evidenced by the fact that my head hurts a lot every time I think. All the minutia I am required to store in my brain for the entire family is squarely to blame.

Small things like who gets mustard on their sandwich or the white jersey versus blue jersey for soccer in addition to the big things like paying for college get mixed in with high school algebra and remedial Spanish. My poor brain can’t decipher which parts of this data qualify as vital information so it just keeps it all in there banging around until I need to recall it.

Ouch.

Throb.

Making the situation worse is the fact that my body has turned against me and I no longer sleep. Hot flashes and night sweats plague me to the point that I now average 3-4 hours of sleep a night. So, you can certainly understand why this napping study is like a little gift to my weary soul.

A nap would let my head get one over on my hormonally evil body one brain cell at a time. Excited, I clicked on the link embedded in the post to find out more.

The “Higher Perspective” website landing page looked a little more Star Trek than medically professional, but I was willing to gloss over that because the article cited a “Dr.” And I was too tired to be checking physician credentials. I was a believer, for better or worse.

And boy was it for the better. After trying to avoid the pop up ads for catching and keeping a man and the free Chakra test, I learned that the longer I sleep, the smarter I get.  This was turning out to be the best day ever.

Who says Facebook is a waste of time?

I often try and grab a power nap, which has long been hailed for its benefits but, apparently, if I sleep for 90 minutes I will awaken with improved memory and creativity. So, now I suspect that I should actually be sleeping at work and getting paid to be more creative and remember all of my deadlines.

This suspicion is confirmed when I scroll down further to the sentence, “one surprising suggestion is to sit slightly upright during your nap, because it will help you avoid a deep sleep.”  That seals it, they surely want me to sleep at my desk and be a better employee.

The study also stresses that “planning the perfect nap” is key. The word “planning” gives me a moment of pause. Hmmmm. I am usually too tired to plan and am prone to falling asleep in a chair with my to-do list, a pen and my phone in my lap so if anyone walked in I could look productive in a matter of seconds.

Planning a nap means I have to look at the schedule and possibly prioritize the days’ events. Then, figure out if I want to lay down and if so, on the couch or bed or possibly just lounge sideways in a chair. It definitely requires math, adding and subtracting those 90 minutes in different blocks of time to see if it is feasible. Not to mention that all the planning gives me to time to feel guilty about participating in what is generally perceived as slacker behavior. And the ensuing rationalizations involving my resulting brilliance and general good mood once I awaken are a time suck as well.

My head is starting to hurt again….

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

