Day 6, 2013

How do you spice up a lazy, late August Saturday afternoon? A little vigilante justice, that’s how. And the role of Chuck Norris will be played by Mark Stiles.

For those that saw the blog about the flying Rescue Heroes and the oozing toe, the part I left out of that trying day was the fact that Mac’s bike was stolen. And not just stolen. It was taken in broad daylight from our garage, while we were home. The boys were playing outside finding science and winging around toys in trees and the dog was on the deck overlooking the garage. Pretty nervy move and also pretty lame on Murphy’s part but he never promised to be a watch dog, just guaranteed unconditional love.

We went through all the necessary steps. We narrowed down the window of time to between 5 and 7pm, drove around and looked for it, asked the neighbors if they had seen anything unusual and posted a notice on our community message board.

All the effort yielded nothing and was really disheartening because we don’t experience this kind of theft in our neighborhood and it was a $300 bike (well closer to $350 if you counted the Performance Bike Club membership we got sucked into).

Thank God Mark takes charge of things like bike warranties and purchase information because he was able to produce the booklet, warranty, serial number and a photo before I would have made it through the first pile of papers in the kitchen. Right then, I made a silent vow to never make fun of his filing system again and I really meant it this time.

The nice police woman who came to take the report was impressed with the attention to detail and I totally let her believe that it was all my doing. However, she held out little hope of seeing the bike again.

Flash forward to Saturday afternoon. I was lazing in a chair trying to catch a nap since middle age robs me of any consistent stretch of slumber every night. My cell phone rang and I saw that it was Mark. I only got as far as the “Hell” part of “Hello” and he shouted “I have Mac’s bike and the kid, get someone down here I am blocking the entrance.”

Exactly 50 questions raced through my head, but I just said “ok” and hung up while shouting for Mac. Because he is 14, he could not stop the same exact 50 questions from flying in a continuous stream as he pulled on a shirt and shoes. So, I just kept repeating, “I don’t know, you just have to run NOW,” over and over until he was gone.

Drew, Reed and I stood on the sidewalk watching Mac’s head bob up and down as he ran along the street. The entrance to the neighborhood is a straight shot from our house so we waited until the white of his shirt disappeared and we knew he was almost there.

Mark called back and told me to contact the police because the teen who had the bike had taken off down Great Seneca Highway. He gave me a description and hung up.

Still wildly curious how this happened, I called the non-emergency number with my case number at the ready. Really, the true upside of this whole episode was my new-found ability to use police lingo in every-day conversation.

I told the operator that “the perpetrator” had been stopped by my husband at the entrance to the neighborhood.  I detailed a “suspect description.”  I offered that “the suspect was last seen on foot headed north on Great Seneca Highway.”  I could just tell that the operator was dazzled by my official jargon.

After I hung up, Mac returned on his bike and it looked no worse for the wear. He wanted to go out and find the kid that took it but I cautioned him that we knew nothing about this person and they had ample time to get reinforcements or a weapon in anticipation of a confrontation. Probably a little dramatic since the kid ran away from Mark who looks like the banker he is, even in his Saturday clothes. Mac was all amped up and needed to settle down so he was tasked with putting the bike in the garage and staying put.

But my adrenaline was flowing too so I could hardly blame Mac for wanting to do something. Mark drove around for a while but never saw the teen again. When he came in the house he described the entire incident.

It turned out that the very minute Mark was turning into the neighborhood, this kid was turning into the neighborhood on a bike. The red bike caught Marks’ attention. The Schwinn logo would have been a great coincidence but the black bike lock around the middle sealed it. That kid had our bike.

Mark pulled a total Buford T. Justice move and turned his car sideways in a small cut-out in the road and blocked the path of the biker. The kid skidded to a stop and Mark hopped out of the car and began asking the kids questions about his bike.

The boy, according to Mark, looked like a deer in the headlights and began stammering apologies saying his friend gave him the bike after finding it in the bushes. He was backing away as he told his story and turned onto the main road as Mark made the initial call to me.

The police came again and inspected the bike including the marks on the bike lock that evidenced the attempts to remove it. They matched the serial numbers and then in the best moment of all, the police man said, “Good work. Sometimes solving these things all comes down to luck and timing.” He was talking to us like we were one of the crew out on the streets fighting crime!

As we bid the police man farewell, we all stood around a little deflated that the incident had run its course. Drew and Reed ran off to tell their friends, while Mac used social media, and I returned to the chair to try and recapture some of the lazy of the day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

