Day 1, 2012

They say that March is the cruelest month as it teeters between winter and spring, teasing us with the hope of warm weather renewal. But my money is on August. The combination of heat, humidity, lack of camp options and back to school prep clearly led to the creation of Prozac.

As we drove back from the beach, I was overwhelmed before we even got out of the car. I wanted to keep driving to somewhere, anywhere that would not require me unpacking, organizing, cooking or refereeing anyone or anything. The boys bickering about chewing too loud brought me back to my sad reality. I was hanging all my hopes on Sunday having deliberately given us an extra day to get settled before work. As a bonus they were calling for beautiful weather which we desperately needed after iffy vacation weather.

At 2am Sunday morning any hope I had of enjoying Sunday literally went down the toilet. I was hit with a virus, food poisoning or alien invasion that was so violent even the dog had the sense to move on. As I lay on the bathroom floor some hours later, it finally clicked for Mark that something might be wrong. He had suffered milder symptoms earlier in the night but seemed to be rebounding which made me want to hit him. Hard.

I crawled downstairs and stared at the mountain of coolers, bags and boxes that needed to be emptied and put away. This is when I knew I wasn’t going to die from this thing—whatever it was—because God would not be cruel enough to have this mess be the last thing I saw in my final moments.

I spent the day in and out of sleep and the bathroom while my children roamed the neighborhood unsupervised and unfed as Mark had to go to work to get caught up before a hectic week. I could hear the door opening and closing. I could hear the pop-fizz of soda cans opening over and over and the rustle of bags as the kids roamed like bears at a camp site for anything that resembled food.

I rallied in the evening and ventured to the couch to watch the Olympic Closing Ceremonies. I don’t know if it was the lack of electrolytes but it was the strangest show I have ever seen. Well since the Opening Ceremonies anyway. People who don’t sing were singing (Russell Brand doing Willy Wonka). Eric Idle looked like a performer from the Love Boat but Prince Harry was singing along with him from the stands so that was a bonus. Then we had the long ten minute drag as the athletes just ambled into the stadium and looked as perplexed as I felt. And why did they make the poor Spice Girls—who looked fabulous even in my delirious state—stand on cars in 7-inch heels? In fact there was a lot of driving in circles and singing which forced me to close my eyes a few times to get grounded again.

In the end, it all came together with fireworks, the passing of Olympic future to Rio and the pageantry that one would expect. I was sad to see the Olympics leave as it was one of those rare television moments in my house when everyone agrees on what to watch without fighting over the remote. This reminded me all over again that it was going to be a long couple of weeks before the start of school. I rose and stumbled to bed, I was going to need all the strength I could get.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

