Day Twenty-three

And so we come to the end of the summer road. Also, consequently, the end of this blog. I put off writing this last installment for a day or two because I will miss the daily therapy disguised as a blog. But without the boys underfoot, I am a boring girl indeed.
They have made the adjustment back to school the same as in years’ past. The first day is an adrenaline rush. The second day is still marginally exciting. The third day the fatigue begins to show. The fourth day is ugly from sun-up to sundown. Blessedly the weekend arrives just in time.

In the “back to school” spirit, I did some calculations to summarize the summer:

1. I prepared approximately 200 sandwiches this summer. Most consisting of some variation of turkey, provolone, mustard and lettuce on a roll.
2. The word “stop” was the most uttered word of the summer from the kids. If you count adding an extra, whiney syllable to drag it out, then it may double the count. My estimate is that I heard that word 15 times a day. Add a bonus of 5 times for every hour spent in the car on a road trip.
3. ICarly was by far the most watched show with the IGoCrazy movie running on continuous loop for two straight days. Then both my mom and sister were forced to watch it when they were in town. To be honest, it was laugh out loud funny.
4. “Mom” was a close second in the most used word category. But since I stopped answering to it in mid-July the numbers went way down boosting “Stooop” to victory.
5. I went to the grocery store almost every day, sometimes twice. So, that would be about 85 trips minimum. If I was alone, I used coupons and only bought store brands or items on sale. If the kids were with me, the coupons were left in the car, I bought only name brands and there were no meat or vegetable items in the cart. Unless a Lunchable qualifies as meat.
6. “Enough” was the word I uttered the most during the summer. I said it at least once an hour and my calculator wouldn’t count that high so I have no numbers. Examples include… “Enough” of the bickering. Playing with your brothers should be entertainment “enough” for you. I think three cookies, an Icee and chips is “enough” for a snack.
7. I took 125 pictures this summer. In some of them, the boys actually look like they like each other. As I look at them I realize how truly hard it is to get a family photo at the beach without getting images of people you don’t know in their bathing suits in the background captured with your family forever.

It all adds up to another summer in the books as the latest chapter in their lives begins to take shape and unfold. All three boys are in the upper hall for the first and last time at St. Mary’s. Mac begins his final year there as he prepares for high school testing and applications.
The summer light subtly fades just as their future brightens a little every day. Only God knows where the road will lead these magnificent children but I am going to savor every minute of the journey as long as they will have me along for the ride.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Traci
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 03:09:51

    Loved the blog, Mo. High school testing???? WHAT????? When cam we get together???

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 11:21:18

    What a treat! Everyday I looked forward to hearing what happened next with the Stiles clan. Such fun stories – thank you for sharing! Hope you all are doing well. Fall brings many wonderful things:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

