Day Four

As anyone with teenagers knows, when they initially begin babysitting, you are right there babysitting with them. The minutia of the experience is played out in a series of phone calls and texts with plaintive requests for assistance. Each time Mac stays with Drew and Reed we are beseiged with so many phone calls it is difficult to actually relax.
So, it was armed with this information that I kindly offered Mac’s services to a neighbor who was desperate to find someone to watch her three kids while she worked.
Technically, Mac is only allowed to watch his brothers but because he has experience as a Mother’s Helper, is almost 13 and I was scheduled to work from home, he was hired. Realistically, I knew that navigating the warzone that is my home on a daily basis, had redied him for nearly anything but I had cleared the calendar to step-in if necessary.
Early the next morning, with visions of dollar signs dancing in his head, Mac left. He had to walk a whopping four houses to reach his destination but I asked him to text me when he got there. He groaned and slammed the door.
Of course no text was forthcoming, but I knew he was getting instructions for the day and settling in. So, I texted him.
“Don’t let the girls sit inside all day and watch tv.”
All I got in response was “k”
I did an hours worth of work and the dishes and texted him again.
“How’s it going?”
All I got in response was “good”
Great. Fabulous. Excellent. He was doing fine. Drew then asked to go over and play with one of Mac’s charges. So, I texted him.
“Drew wants 2 come hang out w/Sam”
All I got in response was “k”
So, I sent Drew down with various warnings about listening to his brother and eating other people’s snacks. He groaned and slammed the door.
Reed and I busied ourselves with the cursory sweep that is necessary before the cleaning crew comes. Before I knew it, Drew had been gone with Mac for over an hour. So, I texted him.
“Are Drew and Sam ok?”
All I got in response was “Yes”
The cleaners arrived promptly at 11am and Reed asked to go be with Mac as well. That would leave Mac in charge of five kids 10 and under. So, I texted him.
“Reed wants 2 come over.”
And all I got in response was “k”
So, I sent Reed off with warnings about ganging up against Mac and staying within earshot of the house. He groaned and slammed the door.
I set myself up at the bar downstairs with my computer and worked for another hour or so with the hum of the vacuum as my backdrop. The sounds of cleaning are so comforting when you are not the one performing the task.
It was almost time for them to eat lunch. So, I texted him.
“Do you need help w/lunch?”
All I got in response was “No”
Reed returned teary-eyed after a minor scuffle and said Mac made him come home before lunch. So, I texted him.
“Was Reed not listening?”
All I got in response was “yes”
I made Reed lunch and sat down to ponder this strange phenomenon. Where were the questions? The panicked phone calls? The requests for advice? Problem solving?
Nothing. Nada. The kid was all but ignoring me.
So, I busied myself with the post cleaning ritual of moving all of your things back where they belong.
I returned to the kitchen as the phone rang. Caller ID showed the number for the family that Mac is sitting for.
“Hello”
And all I got in response was “We need you”
Well sheesh, it’s about time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 00:32:42

    Annnnnndddd? I want more. What happened when you went down there? Blood and screams? Poison Control? An accidental call to 911 at least? Cause if none of those things happened, Mac needs to come spend a few weeks next summer at my house:)

    Reply

    • milesofstiles
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 00:46:52

      Well, it is boring. The family has a dpg. In the middle of the babysitting gig, I got a call for the kids to walk another dog. I had the bright idea for the dogs to play together in their backyard. Snarling and fighting ensued. I had to pull the visiting dog out and take him home. Do you still want Mac?

      Reply

  2. sarah
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 18:43:11

    Hahaha! Not boring at all. And Yes, we would love to have Mac come. All summer would be nice! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 376 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

