Psst…Did you Hear?

Drew and Reed come busting in the door with our neighbor Riley, flushed and excited. “Someone is selling cookies,” they shout in unison. Because I am in the bathroom at the time, I am very concerned with someone actually being ushered into the house to sell me something while I am peeing. So, I fly out of the bathroom and find to my relief that they are alone. “We don’t need cookies,” I say scanning the front porch for visitors, “even if they are Girl Scout thin mints I don’t have any cash.”  If I am rejecting thin mints then there is no doubt that I am serious. So, they file back out the door dejected. Not two minutes later, they are back. This time they are in an all out frenzy. “A bus broke down and people are knocking on doors to get help.” What?? I had a million questions because, frankly, the scenario made no sense but all I can manage is “What?” They repeat that a bus is broken down and it might be from the middle school up the street and that they need help. The kids also report that the people asking for help are now at the next door neighbors. “Get ready,” they say, “it is our turn next.”  There are now five kids standing on my porch staring down the street in anticipation of a knock on the door. I decide that I should just keep putting dishes in the dishwasher as I ponder how I could be of assistance in this bizarre, possibly made-up situation. Over the running water I hear the door slam again and in they come shouting, “It’s on the news. Turn on the news now.”  This new information is actually giving this story some legs so I dash to the television and turn on Fox News. Nothing. And then I realize that I am not sure what I am looking for. Broken down bus in Gaithersburg on the news? We flip around the channels while one kid keeps an eye on the front door. Still nothing. My oldest, Mac, says “Look on the internet.” I am fully vested now and google the local stations. Lo and behold there is video footage of a bus full of middle schoolers on the way to a ski trip fully engulfed in flames on I-270. Sure that I have hit the jackpot, I am excited. All six of us crowd around the small laptop screen and watch. Then I realize that it is a dangerous situation and perhaps I should not be excited. It goes on to say that everyone is fine. The time stamp on the video reads 9:16am. So, I announce to the boys that this is not likely our bus as it happened nearly ten hours ago. So engrossed are we in the computer and the two different news stations blaring on alternate tv’s, we almost miss the light knock on the door. The pack moves to the front door and stands frozen gawking at the young girl standing there. I recognize her as a neighbor. She is holding a clipboard which I soon find out holds a petition asking for a neighborhood bus for the high school students. She offers me no cookies. She does not mention any assistance needed for said bus. There are no television cameras. The kids look past her as if to say, “This is it? This is all you’ve got?”  I sign the petition because the kids do walk too far to get to the high school and then send her on her way.  I turn to the boys as I shut the door and before I can say a word they throw the littlest one under the proverbial bus. “Riley,” they say ” I can’t believe you thought there was a bus from the middle school on tv.”  They all shuffle away proclaiming innocence. I am left to shake my head in disbelief knowing that, despite the lack of a bus, I got taken for a ride.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 12:33:58

    Mo, you just made my day! I enjoy your writing so much! Happy Saint Patty’s Day to you and your leprachons (sp?)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

