Ode to Winter

So this will be the winter of my discontent

It may sound harsh, but that’s exactly what is meant

The world’s coated in white but parents are blue

Fifty inches of snow and insanity enues

This much togetherness is not our natural state

And to be honest, it’s really not going so great.

“Mom make me a meal, I’m starving don’t you know.”

“And don’t dare make hot chocolate without marshmellows”

“He called me stupid and made a face at me.”

“Mom, he’s in front of the TV so I can’t see.”

“This house is SO BORING, there is nothing to do

“You can do homework,” I say and then I get an eye-roll too

I haven’t seen the Today show in over w eek

The local news shows drone on just to hear themselves speak

We have sledded, shoveled, measured and built our forts

Played board games, cards and a golf tournament of sorts

I am running low on ideas to pass the time

And what’s worse is that we are nearly out of wine

There is a light at the end of the tunnel that gets me by

The kids will be occupied in school until July.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 376 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

