Let Me Entertain You

Ever since my children were little, I have shared stories of my childhood and family as a way of giving them insight into their collective history. I have recounted heartwarming tales about their grandfather who passed away before they were born, holidays and the many misadventures of my sister and I as kids. Yet, no matter how many Hallmark memories I offer up, they always come back to the most embarrassing moments of my life. Just the other day, my son said, “Mom, remember the time the seagull pooped on your butt at the beach? That was the best.”  Yes, please, I was hoping we could talk about that again. Oh, the sheer joy of reliving the moment of recognition that my butt is indeed as big as I feared and is suitable for target practice for birds.  Or they will ask about the time I fell down with a full tray of food in the dining hall in front of nearly the entire UMD football team. My oldest son will ask.” Did you slide around or just fall?” or “Did the tray land on top of you or on the floor?” and  “Did people laugh or just stare at you?” Well, let’s see…. I fell down hard and then slid a little in a pool of orange juice. The tray ended up on the floor after depositing at least one food product on every square inch of my body. And, finally, wouldn’t you laugh if someone was splayed out on the floor, covered in food and orange juice?  “Yeah mom”, he says, “that would be so hilarious.”  Well, at the very least, I am entertaining. It seems my loss of dignity is better than SpongeBob. So, the stories about summers spent in Maine and reading “The Night Before Christmas” are largely ignored. Unless, of course, I mention the time the big, mean girl fell on me and broke my arm in Maine or how my sister and I would fight over who read the story until my dad was no longer interested in reading to us at all. I guess these uncomfortable moments for me bring comfort to my kids. The mom who has all the answers, fixes all problems and is slightly larger than life to her kids becomes a little more like them. Sometimes I stumble ,but I hope it is the getting back up that the kids will remember. I’ll sacrifice what little is left of my pride if it teaches them resilience.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 376 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

