Keeping It Real

I  have approximately 200 channels available for viewing every day via satellite. I am proud to say that I have not actually taken the time to scroll through the entire menu so I don’t know the exact number. Ok, I lied. I have scrolled through and looked at the entire menu many times. I was just too lazy to count the options. What I do know, is that nearly all of these channels feature reality programming. Another cold, hard fact? There are probably only three or four of these shows that I have not actually seen. I am looking over my shoulder as I type this because I am about to make a big admission (insert drumroll here). I AM A REALITY TV JUNKIE. I am embarrassed for myself as I endlessly watch these shows. Much the same way you get flustered when you realize that you have just waved to someone from the car who is not the person you thought they were. You speed away red-faced fiddling with your visor or hair; pretending it wasn’t a wave at all. You will never see that person again, no one knows what happened other than you, but you are kicking yourself nonetheless. I constantly reprimand myself for getting sucked in to these shows, but I can’t stop the madness. The irony is that these shows are not “real” at all. If Jon and Kate have taught us anything–in addition to the fact that a lot of money doesn’t mean you have a decent hairstyle–it’s that what we see is not what is truly happening. I am real. My life is real. But a show about my life would be used as therapy for insomniacs. However, these shows feature a reality so different, shocking and sometimes sadder than my life it is too good to resist. So, I’ve decided that I don’t need to stop watching reality television. The creators of these shows need to help me out a little. Let the “Cake Boss” make a cake for a bride on “Whose Wedding Is It Anyway” or  have Tabitha take over a salon the morning before Kimora and her Fab Life come in for a mani-pedi. Heidi Klum can stop by and judge the choices for the brides on “Say Yes To The Dress.” Put the Kardashian girls on “Survivor” and  “Bill and Guiliana” on “The Amazing Race”. The Housewives have taken this genre to a new level and thus deserve their own singular place in the line-up. This may not exactly be a 12-step program, but it would cut my viewing time in half with twice the drama in one sitting. I get giddy thinking about how much more I could get accomplished with all this additional free time.  Alright, not giddy but certainly less guilty. Yet, that is the beauty of reality programming. It is a guilty pleasure. Even the folks on “Intervention” would say I deserve at least that.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

