A Shoe By Any Color…

So, it has come to this. The inevitable unraveling of my pride is now in full force and effect. It began last Saturday which was shaping up to be a doozy. Three sports, one sick kid and Halloween. My middle son had to be at the football field at 8:15 a.m. So, oldest son stays home with sick son while I make the football run with another teammate. My husband is nowhere to be found. Yet,  I am ok with this because the running group he joined promotes his sanity throughout the rest of the weekend. Ultimately a win-win for the whole family. A couple of chin straps later, I am back in the car heading home to pick up the other boys. After running, husband has to coach soccer team of child too sick to play but not sick enough to laze on the couch. Make the wildly popular, but ultimately ill-advised, decision to let sick child come to football game as he has no fever at the moment. Make many, many promises of junk food and free rein at the snack bar which is aggressive for a 9am game. On way back to field literally stalk a neighboring parent to give them soccer certificates that husband forgot as he peeled out of the house before daylight. We rendezvous in the merge lane of a divided highway and make the hand-off just as it starts to drizzle. Mentally tally the umbrella status of the car and wince at the realization that the children’s model with linking choo-choo trains may be the only option. Am saved the humiliation of actually carrying the umbrella as the drizzle has stopped when we arrive at the field.  Feeling buoyed by the fact that the weather Gods are smiling favorably, we hustle to the bleachers. As we pass the snack bar, the shuttered service windows bring a loud cry of dismay but I push onward. Once settled in our seats, I marvel that it is a mere 9am and I have all three kids dressed and out of the house on time, certificates have been hand- written and delivered to husband and have enough cash on-hand to repay mom who covered me for football photo day. It is then that I happen to glance down at my feet. I feel the color tinge my face at the realization that I have on two completely different running shoes. Right feet, wrong colors. My oldest son follows my glance– I must’ve gasped unconsciously– and can’t even meet my eye. It’s as if he is saying, “what kind of loser can’t even find matching shoes?” Apparently, that loser would be me. Noticing that the snack bar has finally opened, I welcome the diversion and send the boys off to graze. It is in this moment that I notice all the other football moms with not only matching shoes, but also adult-sized umbrellas and coordinating sweatpants and jackets. But what choice did I have? I had to own it. Not only did I make three stops on my way home, but when I went out later that afternoon I put my mismatched shoes right back on because they were already wet and muddy. If anyone noticed, they weren’t talking, and I completely forgot about it as I made my way about town. There was a time when I would’ve gone home and changed immediately or made excuses. But some days, it’s all about putting one foot in front of the other. No matter how mismatched the shoes may be.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

