Apparently, my kids are learning about reading food labels and nutritional content as part of their curriculum. Excellent. Unless I am currently trying to lose ten pounds in two weeks, I’m not so good with the labels. Really, deep down, I already know which foods should not be in my pantry, mouth and eventually on my hips. Yet, if I look at the label  I can’t eat four oreos on the couch with the remote and claim ignorance. Cream in the middle has to have calcium, right? Not according to the label. I never questioned whether something was good for me when I was a kid. I just knew that if my mother fed it to me, then it was ok. So all three boys now look at the labels of the food they eat. Most of that eating, unfortunately, is done in the car in the form of snacks. I have perfected the art of tossing chips, crackers and apples into the back of the car while going 65 mph–ok maybe 70–on the highway. So, one day my youngest is eating a bag of Funyons–far and away the most aromatic member of the chip family. As is his habit, he starts reading the label about half-way through the bag. After citing a few of the numbers, his eyes got wide and he exclaims, “These are SO not healthy.” This is not shocking information to me, but I feel a sense of pride that he is grasping the concept of healthy and not healthy foods. I start dreaming of a day when my kids want fruit and not chips or apple slices instead of fries. His voice breaks through my reverie declaring,”Mom, make sure I only have one bag of Funyons at a time. If I want two bags, we’ll have to find another kind of chip. I want to make healthy choices.” Um, ok.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 376 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

