Let Them Eat Cake

My husband’s paternal grandmother will be 90 years old next week. She will join our maternal grandmothers in the nonegenarian club. And yes I looked up nonegenarian. Never heard of it before today. My children have no idea how unusual it is to have three great-grandparents living. Instead of  waxing philosophical about the importance of a multi-generational family, I use this fact against them. “I am going to be around forever,” I say. “The women in this family never die. You better be nice to me because I am never going away.” I’m betting that they don’t realize that even if they are really nice to me everyday, I still am going to be around forever. And will most likely get crankier as the decades roll past. In anticipation of Nanny’s momentous birthday, my mother-in-law was using  my oldest son’s birthday celebration as an opportunity to prime all six of her grandsons on how to sing Happy Birthday respectfully. It seems like a simple enough song but once you add a couple of “cha, cha, cha’s” and references to zoo animals it can really hit the skids. So, she cues the boys to sing. They all shout and laugh the lyrics until there is no tune, just jockeying for volume. My mother-in-law tries to explain again that Nanny deserves a respectful, or at the very least recognizable, version of the song. “No shouting,” she implores, “sing it softly.” That is when my youngest pipes up and says, “She can’t hear. If we don’t shout it will look like we are just moving our lips with no sound coming out.” Even Nanny could have heard a pin drop in the silence that ensued. He was absolutely right, we are always asking the kids to “speak up so Nanny can hear you.” Faced with this impasse, my mother-in-law surrenders the fight saying, “Who wants cake?”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

