I smell dead people

Well it’s actually a cross between something dead and really old cheese. And this is no science experiment–it is my car. One big, rolling stink bomb. After a day of opening all the windows through rain, wind and high rates of speed, it became clear. Well as clear as the mind can be amidst the rancid fog. It was my son’s feet. That meant that it was human, it was alive and it was my problem to solve. Every time I opened my mouth to tell my poor eight year old, my throat filled with the offending odor and I had to breathe through my nose for a full five minutes. Surely this couldn’t be run of the mill foot odor, this had to be a condition. Something that required medication, treatment and time. Yet, we did not have time or the leather was going to start to peel from the seats and we would all risk suffering permanent brain damage. So, once we pulled in the garage (and left the sunroof open for overnight ventilation) I grabbed every pair of shoes I could find until the guilty heelies arose in a cloud of noxious gas. I sprayed them with Lysol, stuffed dryer sheets in them and left them outside overnight. So, it was a science experiment of sorts. We learned that wearing heelies without socks for days on end is devastating to our environment. So, we have vowed to help the planet one pair of socks at a time.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maria Perry
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 00:25:16

    You had me at “I smell dead people”. Hilarious. I am so happy to see that you now have another baby…a big bundle of joy and insanity that will grow faster than fungus on those heelies. xxoo Maria

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 364 other followers

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Magnificence in the Mundane

Finding humor in kids and chaos

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

